National Poem in Your Pocket Day

There is a poem in my heart

Protected by the jail cell of my ribs

Oxygenated by the breath of my soul

Softened by the thoughts that move through

And the knowledge of the light deep within

~

There is a song to be sung

From that chained in heart

Just what needs to be done to

Break my heart wide open

And let the poetry fly free

~

Then I’ll reach for those words

Close my hand gently around them

Fold them into a ball

Softly placed in my right front pocket.

Leave a Reply

