Coming Home

I return home, oddly refreshed and exhausted at the same time

A conference attended, well worth the effort of the 8 hour drive

But what compares to home?

~

A husband who has a big bowl of popped corn to share

A dog who greets me lovingly and enthusiastically

A child who look so grown up,

I wonder if this is really my little baby

Sleeping quietly on the couch

Waiting for mama

~

Nothing compares to home

Another child, asleep in her bed

too many covers

A warm cheek to kiss, hair damp from being too warm

~

This is home

A cat who purrs loudly

While cuddling on the lap

Piles of laundry that can wait for later

Cool coastal winds blowing through the open bedroom window

~

Home, with its high tides

Right outside the window

The impending coastal storm

The green all around

~

Home, where my heart dwells

Where my love grows

Where I am grounded

Where I am loved

Home….

 

 

Leave a Reply

