Color Me Brilliant

Reach down here now

And color me in bold

bright and beautiful

color after color

~

Make me as purple

as the ripened grapes

sitting on the vine

waiting for harvest in October

~

Paint me as yellow

as a newborn chick’s fluffy feathers

drying around the warmth

of the mother hen’s belly

~

Color me as blue

as a clear summer morning sky

stretching across and over

a cool alpine lake at rest

~

Sketch me as green

as the dark green of the damp forest

after a passing summer thunderstorm

which moves quick as lightening, soon out of sight

~

Design me as orange

as the deep orange flames lapping at dry wood

tossed onto a campfire

creating a smokey memory of days gone by

~

Create me as red

as the blood that seeps through the bandage

placed over the newly formed injury

before it dries to a deep purple brown

~

Pink, white, silver, brown, black, and gold

Aubergine, turquoise, amber, vermillion, and verdigris

Puce, violet, manganese, jasper, malachite, razzmatass,

Coral, scarlett, sienna, indigo, and cobalt

~

Color me brilliant

Color me again

Color me always

Color after color

Leave a Reply

