California

I am sending him away

He will fly far and he will fly fast

He’s going on his way

To the place that was our past

~

A place of magic and beauty

Of shores of golden light

He’ll return to our homeland

And see stars shining bright

~

This place was once upon a time

That which we called home-base

This place where he is travelling

Will welcome him with a warm embrace

~

The land of evening beauty

Where the sea holds up the sun

Until she tires of the day

She then lets go, and it is done

~

Though I am not traveling too

I can smell the ocean air

I can see the redwoods growing

I remember my whispered prayer

~

I left her behind some years ago

and now I send him there

If I close my eyes I see my home

Remembering only the fair

~

So fly my love,

Fly swiftly on your way

Bring me back some light and love

To enjoy another day.

 

 

Leave a Reply

