The song that slipped away

There was a song my heart was singing,

loud and clear, full of joy

in my ears it was ring-a-ling-ringing.

~

The perfect tone, stance, and melody

What peace, love and joy it would create

And then it quickly slipped away from me

~

~

I should have held tightly, never let you go

So precious and unique you were

Like a flake of crystalline new fallen snow

~

I knew you wouldn’t come back to me

As I watched you fly swiftly away

Goodbye dear song, I release you to be free

~

Oh song, sweet lost song of mine

Where have you roamed and strolled

What great adventures did you find?

~

You will be so very greatly missed

Sweet lost precious rhyme and melody

Gone like the dream of the first one ever kissed.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

