Cold Wind

A fiercely cold wind

Arising and blowing through and around

Creating white caps and dark water

On what should be a still calm lake

~

Wind blowing from the cold north

It’s too early, too early for such bold weather

Though not stormy, the wind serves its purpose

Things are changing, moving forward

~

And suddenly there is a lightness

This body, the bag of well sealed blood, bones, organs

So temporary, so changing, so impermanent

Just like the cold wind, is blowing on through

~

And someday this bag of bones will return

To earth, dust, air, sea, land, elements of what was

This material, I mistake it for me

And it had its own destiny, to return to

~

But me, the true soul I am

I plan to soar upon death

I plan to rise above the cold winds

And remember all I forgot

~

Me, the true soul that I am

I will return to the universe, laughing at this small life

Riding through the stardust

And moving onto new adventures.

~

So blow cold wind

Disrupt everything and move through this aging body

Reminding me that you will come and go

As will I.

Leave a Reply

