So Hum, I am

I sit in meditation

Following words of inspiration

I turn to the breath, like the Buddha did

And in this moment

I am crying

Sobs rack my body

Lump in the throat

Tears stream from the eyes, run down cheeks

Nose drips

Heart aches around the breath

How to keep breathing through this

This pain of life

I breathe, I sob, I cry

Is this meditation?

Of grief?

Aum Shanti

Cry, breathe, meditate, notice

Then a few breaths of peace

The sobs dissipate

So Hum

I am this pain, this peace

Aum Shanti

All together in one

So Hum

Breath moving in and out

Sounds swirling around, a storm outside

Children awaken inside

Aum Shanti

Breathe, notice, return

And again I cry and sob

Breathe

Aching around the pain and the love

I am both suffering and not suffering

I am in peace and I am in pain

Moment to moment I shift

I am this

I am this

and I am this too

So hum.

Leave a Reply

