The great suffering

A song comes on the radio

And suddenly I am flooded with a memory

Of a mother who lost her son

Before the tears can fall

My lips and chin quiver, out of my control

And the suffering is slamming into my body

Screaming at me to…

Wake up!

I realize, someday I too will lose

My deepest loves of my life

And I think of my own parents

Wondering how they experienced our own dysfunction

And our loss of connection…

Did they miss me and cry for me when I was gone from home?

I do not recall …or I cannot recall …or I will not recall

And now I must tell my own children

My two darlings

I will always love you, I will always remain with you

Through the great suffering of our attachment and love

Onto our loss and pain, and through to our healing.

Life, love, attachment, death, dying, pain, aversion… suffering

We are, I am, and so it is.

Leave a Reply

