The Wanted and Missing Poem

He said he liked poems

Of riding horses

Drinking coffee

Swimming in cool pools

Hot summer days

And leaves that tumbled gently to the ground, fall after fall.

I sat still and listened

Me on the other end of the radio

Sitting with the thought of the poems I had not written

How my life is full of poetry

Yet I fail to recognize and capture it.

I let it slide away from mind, and fly out my heart

All of those words of thunder crashing

Cats sleeping in patches of sunlight

Musical notes floating about in the summer night air

Falling stars and northern lights streaming down from heavens above.

Those unwritten verses, sailing away.

You may never know

In a poetic way

How I saw the eagle soar over my head

As the osprey chased it away

Or the joy I felt, of holding my baby girl

Saying I love you to her for the first time.

You may never hear about

The double rainbow I saw in County Kerry

Or the way that I fell in love across a smoke filled room

The way my heart filed with light and hope and peace

When my family sat at the piano and sang

Or how I cried most of the way through that old movie

That brought back the stinging grief of my youth

Or how I mantra myself to sleep some nights

When loneliness settles deep in my soul.

I believe it now though,

I believe we are all poetry

Living verses of wonder, life, and light

Writing our messages and poems

On the consciousness of the earth

As we fly through this universe

Spinning helplessly on this bright blue planet.

Each of us is

the wanted

the missing

the most beautiful

poetry

to ever be.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

