I Will Listen: The Universe’s Heartbeat

Rest now my dear

Enter the dream state

For tonight, I will listen for you

As you escape beyond my reach

Into the land of dreams.

I will listen for the sound of the sliver of moon

Sliding off the edges of the canvas

Created by the inky dark sky.

I will concentrate on the sound of the world turning

Spinning around, around, and around,

Too fast to hear, and I will listen

Again, again, again.

I will listen intently

For the hissing sound of the stars

Traversing that same nighttime velvet canvas,

As they go ever chasing after the moon.

Back here on earth

I will hear the smallest sounds all around

The earth worm’s nighttime crawl

Mice nesting in the attic

The silence between the peeper’s night song notes

A fox’s movement through tall grass

Breathing of the child in the room across the hall.

So while you sleep, dreaming and traveling into infinity

Yet still resting some of your neurons

Rebuilding and repairing your very bodily structure

I will remain listening

To the sounds of the universe’s heartbeat.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One comment

  1. joeythebuddhist · August 18, 2015

    Awesome title

Leave a Reply

